Parliament years

Dunvegan Castle

Parliaments since 1956

1956 – The first one. Just one day, but linked with John and Patrick’s 21st birthday and the Royal visit.
1959 – The decision to form the ACMS.
1962 – Confirmed constitution of the ACMS.
1965 – Formation of the North Room Group.
1968 – The “Sunny Parliament”.
1971 – Parliament held in a Marquee in the Round Garden.
1974 – The “Happy Parliament”
1978 – 232 delegates came despite the ferry strike.
1982 – First Parliament attended by Torquil Roderick, Seventeenth Chief of Raasay, 11th of the Lewes.
1986 – Our French Society’s first Parliament.
1990 – South Africa CMS attended; Dame Flora Lounge opened in the Dunvegan Community Hall; Clan Centre discussions.
1994 – Hugh Magnus’ 21st birthday.
1998 – “Wet-Wet-Wet” and Parliament sessions held in Dunvegan Church.
2002 – Centre of Parliament activity was moved to the Dunvegan Community Hall.
2006 – A truly memorable pre-Parliament trip to Lewis and Harris featured the first reunion in 400 years of the Chiefs of MacLeod of MacLeod, MacLeod of the Lewes, and Chief of the MacLeods of Raasay.
2010 – Occasionally referred to as the “intimate” Parliament, this gathering included a remarkable pre-Parliament trip to Assynt and broader participation by delegates in our Clan meetings in Dunvegan.
2014 – Over 200 MacLeods from five continents participated in our gathering, which included a visit from HRH Princess Anne, dedicating the Memorial Gazebo to the late 29th Chief John.
2018 – Another pre-Parliament trip to Harris and Lewis – report here. Another sunny Parliament, and a bumper attendance with nearly 300 attendees – report here.
2023 – pre-Parliament trip to Mull and Iona– find out more. Already nearly 200 attendees have registered for the 2023 Parliament this July